Pages Navigation Menu

Where No Hero is Forgotten

Testimonials

image

***

Sometimes the best way to know about an organization is from the volunteers and supporters …Our volunteers are the heart and soul of  Homefront Hugs USA 

****

image

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from Tom H.,New York City 11/16/15

I will make this short and sweet . Homefront Hugs has helped my brothers and sisters serving in so many ways the past 15 years and hardly is noticed because they don’t have millions or even thousands to spend on marketing or media . Rest assured they deserve the millions because every penny goes to troop and veteran needs . I am proud to help them and to have served this country . Freedom was never free. Do what you can to help make a differnce and spread the word. And to all my fellow warriors – stay safe – come home safe – we will get those bastards because of you ! HOOAH !

 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from Anne Marrow , Ridgefield, CT 10/5/15

Being part of the Homefront Hugs family , volunteering when we choose from home has been immensely rewarding . This grass roots organization needs our donations and support and takes nothing for themselves . They are the real deal . Please give what you can or make a monthly pledge so no hero is left serving and protecting us without support . Even at the bottom of this page, you can donate and any amount is welcome . I believe in Alessandra who has run this with all her challenges as a disabled individual since 9/11 and has not taken a penny for herself . They are true patriots as a USAF family . Most of all I believe in our troops and veterans who sacrifice so much so we can be free, our kids sleep at night and ISIS is not haunting us daily here in the USA. Thank you to every single hero who is keeping me and my family safe .   

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from Betsy Jabry from Agawam, Massachusetts  2/9/2014

 I discovered Homefront Hugs USA on Twitter and immediately my interest was piqued.  Supporting our troops is very important to me.  After all, they risk their lives in order to keep America safe and free.  I was curious about an organization, made up of volunteers that was dedicated to helping our Troops, their families, and our Vets.  So, I went to the website to learn more.  The more information I gathered about Homefront Hugs USA, the more excited I became.
It’s one thing to say “I support our Troops”.  It is another thing to actually do something to support our Troops.  It was time to stop “talking the talk” and start “walking the walk”!  So I signed up and adopted my first soldier.
This obligation meant I sent a care package every 2 weeks to my soldier.  What fun it was for my daughter and myself to pick out stuff for “my girl”.  My first soldier was 20 yrs old.  That’s just 4 years older than my daughter…risking her life so we can be safe.  I was also lucky enough to communicate with her via email.  She is home from deployment now, but we still keep in touch.
At present, I have 2 female soldiers that I currently adopt and send packages to.  Although I have met neither, I feel a special connection to both of them that is difficult to describe.  When putting together care packages, a wonderful sense of fulfillment and happiness comes over me.
My soldiers receive items they need and want, but I receive something as well.  Is it a sense of purpose?  A happy heart?  Whatever it is, it feels really good!   I encourage others to try it.

   from Rachel Vincini  from Poughkeepsie, New York  11/20/13

My name is Rachel Vincini and I am the proud daughter of an Air Force Veteran. I have always supported our troops but felt the call to do so in a more personal way. I found Homefront Hugs on a search for Military Support Organizations. What struck me so powerfully was the amazing ability to adopt a Hero. Through Homefront Hugs, I would be entrusted with an active duty Hero to send just a little bit of the love, prayers and t.l.c, they are so deserving of. I sent my online application through email & prepared to wait a while for a response. I received a response almost immediately, I was going to be matched with a hero in need! What was as exciting was the fact the founder and president, Alessandra Kellermann, was my contact! If that personal touch isn’t a testament to the love and compassion of Homefront Hugs, I don’t know what more anyone could be looking for. Within a few short hours, I had my Hero’s name, address and confirmation that they are in need of my help. My whole family is so thankful and excited to be given this opportunity to express our respect, gratitude and love, personally. Alessandra & I have been in almost constant contact and she’s amazing! I’m going shopping & will be sending out our first care package within 2 days. I feel like a kid on Christmas morning! Thank you so much Alessandra & Homefront Hugs for all you do to ensure our troops feel the love in a very tangible way. I am blessed to have found you & to be a part of Homefront Hugs for as long as there are Heroes deployed defending our freedoms!

******

   

   from Laura Paschold  from Canada  11/20/13

I recently discovered this wonderful organization through a friend on Twitter.  I am from Canada and have always had enormous respect for all military personnel, especially since my Dad served in the Canadian Army during WWII.   As soon as I heard about this organization I knew I wanted to help in any way I could.  The soldiers and their families deserve our respect, care and love.   When the request came out for the need to adopt a soldier, I knew that was something I can and should do.  I just adopted my first soldier and have just sent out my first care package to him.  I am looking forward to  corresponding with him.  If anyone has not adopted a soldier, they should, it’s a worthwhile and wonderful experience!

image

   from Tommy Scroggins  from Cumming, Georgia  11/20/13

I’ve been trying for a while to find a way to show my appreciation for my Heroes! The Heroes that I speak of are our Military Servicemen/women, Veterans & their families. The dedication they have to family, Country & the person fighting next to them is so honorable! Honor, respect & loyalty are words commonly used to describe an American Soldier! Through Homefront Hugs,  I can help get the word out about these honorable Soldiers, Vets & their devoted families!
I’m not made of money, in fact I have very little! With a worth while cause such as sending care packages & letters of support for such worthy Heroes, I found a way to help! I donate money when I can, retweet messages on Twitter & share post on Facebook! If I can find a way to help, anyone can!
There are many ways a person that wants to show their appreciation can do so. Help improve the morale & daily lives of our Servicemen/women & Veterans. The Homefront Hugs USA site will educate you on the many ways you can help! Show our Soldiers, Vets & their families that their sacrifices are appreciated & will not be forgotten! Donate money if you can or give support in other ways, but together we can make a difference!
FYI, my grandfather was a WWII Army Veteran & my first Hero!

    from Betsy Jabry from Agawam, Massachusetts  11/10/13

I am
adding a second review for my daughter . I have always supported our troops and was looking for a way to give back.  I happened upon Homefront Hugs USA on Twitter, and my wish was granted!  What a wonderful program!  I decided to adopt a soldier.  My soldier is 4 years older than my daughter, which hits close to home for me.  She could be my daughter…Anyway, my daughter is involved as well…she is 16 yrs old.  We enjoy picking out items to send to our soldier.  We try to imagine what she would like and need and what it is like where she is.  Really makes you think about what life is like for our brave troops.  Wish more people would get involved…It’s amazing how rewarding it is and how good it makes you feel.

   from Jennifer Amodei, M.Ed., Philadelphia Academy Charter School, PA  11/7/13

We knew that there was a need for American soldiers to feel appreciated and cared for by all of us back at home.  The HOMEFRONT HUGS website gave us the tools we needed to help. Through adopting a soldier we have taken a personal approach to reaching out to the heroes overseas.  “The GUTSS group would like to thank you for putting your life on the line for us.” Molly Deal 7th grader and GUTSS member in a letter to our adopted soldier.

As one of our girls said in a letter to our hero, “I would never in my life be able to fight at war. I am just not as brave as you. “ We want to thank the men and women brave enough to keep us safe and let them know how appreciative we are for their sacrifice. Creating care packages and writing letters is such a simple way for us to show our thanks and we are thrilled to do it!

GUTSS was created during the 2011-2012 school year in an effort to counter the mean messages that young women get from the media and society telling them that they are not good enough. GUTSS focuses on character building, forging strong positive relationships with other girls and reaching out to our community when there is a need.

****image***

   from Laura P. in Millersburg, PA  11/6/13

I just received my third Homefront Hero and am just as excited as when I received my first.  I am thrilled to say that my first two heroes have safely returned from deployment and have been reunited with their loved ones stateside.

Homefront Hugs USA is a wonderful opportunity to give back just a small token of my gratitude to those who give their all.  I support different charities financially but was looking to not only to give financially but also give of my time.  Sending a box to a “hero” can change lives, the life of the recipient and the life of the sender.  It is not so much the content of the box (a box can contain anything from a pair of socks, a t-shirt, toothpaste or homemade cookies) it is the handwritten note or card that accompanies the box to let the soldier know that someone is thinking of them, praying for them and that their sacrifices are not going unnoticed.

Just today I received the following message from my first hero:

“I know it’s been a while and I’m sorry but as my wife and I were moving, I came across my deployment stuff and saw your letters.  I just want you to know that I appreciate everything you do/did for me and any chance I get to talk about my service I always mention you and your family.  Thank you so much.  Veterans Day is around the corner and I receive many thanks from everyone but I take that day to thank behind the closed doors people.  You, my grandparents and my wife really helped me through the year.  I would be lost without my wife.  Thank you.”

Wow!  Now tell me that we cannot make a difference in a soldier’s life.    I have been the one blessed beyond measure to be able to adopt and support heroes through HomeFront Hugs USA.   I am so very grateful for all our proud and brave men and women who serve in the military.

 “I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.”                                                                                                                                                                                                         Mother Teresa

image

  from Lu Tayloe in St.Augustine, Florida

I joined right after Homefront Hugs was formed. I saw a small paragraph in a magazine.  I had friends who were in Nam so writing long distance wasn’t new.  I have lost count of the number of soldiers I’ve had for the duration of their deployment. Some have remained in touch and are extended family.
You know you are doing the right thing when a soldier empties his pockets of all his cash and says we are doing a good thing.as one did at our special event years ago at Fantasy of Flight in Florida.
Letters of encouragement and appreciation remind our freedom fighters that they are not forgotten.
****

  from Dr.and Mrs.Dan Leviten in Lakeland, Florida 11/5/13

We began to participate in Homefront Hugs many years ago, motivated by our son’s deployment to Iraq. Since then, we have “adopted” many soldiers through Homefront Hugs, and are always very gratified by the appreciative responses of the people we communicate with. The most recent person expressed her gratitude for the effort expended (not a major time commitment on our part) in sending cards, packages, and e-mails. Our son’s multiple deployments taught us how important showing appreciation and caring is in lightening the burden of being away from home and loved ones, in a dangerous environment. For us, the good feeling created by helping these brave people is difficult to express. Receiving something at mail call is something to lift the spirits of the soldier, and makes their day brighter. We encourage anyone with interest in helping, to do so through Homefront Hugs. You and the soldier you support will glad you did.

 

 from Annie in Newport News, Virginia 11/5/13

My dad is retired Navy.  In looking to do more for our Warriors, I met Alessandra of HomefrontHugs. Working with Homefront Hugs has been one of the most rewarding acts I have participated in. Alessandra, made it so effortless to adopt a solider. So effortless, that I adopted two. Our troops need us more than ever with all the challenges they and their families face, and Alessandra, makes it so easy and it’s so rewarding. I am truly grateful for meeting this extraordinary women! My life has been ever changed. My first care packages went out and I can’t wait to hear back from them!! What are you waiting for,  email Alessandra and adopt, you’ll never regret it!

**

  from Anne G in Middle Village, NY 11/5/13

Alessandra Kellermann who founded this organization is a great gal and does so much to help our Troops.
I signed up to help our military in war torn countries be it Iraq or Afghanistan.  I always tried to give whatever  I could to our Great Men and Women away from home helping to keep us free and safe. I gave also because sometimes our brave men and women who served their country are forgotten.
I wanted to let them know by giving to Homefront Hugs USA they are NOT forgotten and never will by me and especially Alessandra Kellermann who works hard to send out care packages. Nothing beats the feeling of giving of yourself to people in need.
   from Kate Bullard,LMSW, MPH in Ann Arbor, Michigan 11/5/13

I  recommend Homefront Hugs and it’s CEO,  Alessandra Kellermann very highly.   I am a   Social Work Coordinator in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Michigan, and work with Military Support Programs and Networks (MSPAN) there.  I have worked with Alessandra since 2010.  When Alessandra learned that we were hosting a holiday Military Family Support Forum,  Homefront Hugs reached out to our organization, and offered to help local military families.  They provided wonderful toys, each wrapped beautifully, and addressed to each child.  Little gifts were given to the adults, as well. In addition, personal cards were made for families, with heart-felt, sweet messages from both adults and children.  They also worked with a local florist to provide beautiful poinsettia plants to decorate the room and for families and volunteers to take home.  She also helped to spread the word about the program, and continues to support our family programs.  Homefront Hugs continues to provide gifts to make our holiday Military Family Support Forum special, and the cards written by volunteers have brought tears to the eyes of these families.  For some, it was the first time their sacrifice was even acknowledged in this way. When one of our military spouses of a wounded warrior was struggling with financial and legal issues, she knew to  reach out to Homefront Hugs.  Alessandra provided counseling, direct service, and many hours to help this spouse and her daughter stay in their home.

Among her many strengths, Alessandra is able to impressively engage with others- listening and trying to understand things from other’s perspectives. Her program, Homefront Hugs provides support to troops, veterans and their families with an inclusive, nondiscriminatory message of hope and peace. Homefront Hugs has successfully built many connections,  teams, alliances and networks and is a trusted member of the community.  Please consider joining them!


  
from Marcene Lee in Atlanta, Georgia 11/5/13 

Since I was a young girl I always loved writing to people, back then they were penpals from comic books.  When I got older and in high school the viet nam war was still going on and I knew a lot of high school friends and others being drafted so I continued writing them and sending packages.  It didn’t matter if I knew them or not I was very proud to be a part of just making one or two or three military personnel maybe have a smile that day when they got their mail.  After all, they were MY HEROES in my book !
I was married to two Vietnam men (not at the same time..lol) and I respected them tremendously, also family in the military and some at war.  I have been with Homefront Hugs now for a few years and I enjoy writing these letters from home and sending packages.  Each and everyone of us should drop  our military a letter or two, a few kind words, a card, a small package, a picture..what does it take?…especially our children.  I hear them complain of boredom sometimes and I just want to sit them down and have them draw a picture, or make a card and say THANK YOU for serving and giving me my freedom…take them off that pedestal for 15 minutes and see what they come up with….these men and women are fighting for us and our future …TAKE SOME TIME for them.
Homefront Hugs is an awesome organization join as a family, show our military some support !! …and their families.  It’s easy and it’s FREE .
One night when you’re on NetFlex rent the movie TAKING CHANCE and sit down as a family AND WATCH IT !!!  It may make you a little humble…start writing that letter and make our soldiers ‘smile’ even if it’s for a short time.
Homefront Hugs…you’re the best in my books.  Keep up the good work..GOD BLESS AMERICA and our Troops !!!

 

from Veteran Amanda Deveau in Ann Arbor, Michigan 11/4/13 

HomefrontHugs was there when I needed help supporting my military friends who were deployed and didn’t miss a beat helping me support them when they returned home from deployments.  They are like family that never sleeps and never stops. Kids who have parents in the military are tough, but there are days when they need a little extra attention or some reassurance that everything will be okay.  HomefrontHugs did just that for my daughters Izzy and Gabby.  When they needed extra support, they got it from our HomefrontHugs family.

As a veteran and current member of the Air Force Reserves, I am thankful for the support HomefrontHugs provides to my military friends and the families that support them.  I proudly support HomefrontHugs and encourage all of my fellow veterans to do the same.  There is always a troop who needs a lift and a family member who needs strength from support.

 from Nancy Castaneda in Chowchilla, California 11/4/13

I want to thank Homefront Hugs for all they do and stand for behind our military men and women and families.  Also thank all the volunteers on all levels.  No one really understands the true meaning behind helping our military try imaging being away from home from you spouses and children for long stretches of times.  I’ll tell you it’s not easy.  By helping and volunteering it is helping me overcome my loss.  My boyfriend whom I was engaged to was killed in combat in Afghanistan 4 years ago.  Still to this day I miss him but with programs like Homefront Hugs, it gives me something to hold on to, to remember him by.


  12-16-201o from Doreen on Great Non-Profits   

I am proud to be a part of HFH.  I admire Ms. Kellermann for her passion for all military.  I feel connected to the soldiers I have adopted, as if they are my own.  My goal is to bring a smile to the soldiers that receive.  Such a miniture sacrafice on my part for those that sacrafice everything to keep me and mine safe from harm.  I am forever in their debt.  May GOD BLESS AND BE WITH THEM ALWAYS.

  12-9-2010 by Texas Angel on Great Non-Profts  

I joined HFH a few yrs ago, and I am amazed at how much they do for so many. Not only do they support the soldiers who are deployed, they help the families that are still here. I love the fact that almost anyone can adopt a soldier and send their support and thanks. I had a soldier I adopted a few yrs back and around christmas time I sent him a battery operated christmas tree for him and his troop. I recieved an email from him and all the others telling me thank you, and It would be one of the best christmases they would have being away from home. Then not only that I got pictures from him with the tree, and the smile that was on his face said it all. I recomend joining Homefront Hugs because there is a personal satisfaction to it. Not only do you do your part to support the soldiers, you get to corespond with them and get to know them, you get feedback and thanks for your part. I use to give my money to charities that helped others, but the satisfaction was not there in know who I was helping, that is not the case with HFH.

  12-9-2010 by Sailors Mom on Great Non-Profits   

I joined Homefront Hugs 5 years ago. Right from the start I was touched by the absolute devotion shown by Alessandra to the service members and their families she has chosen to serve.  I have seen quite a few nonprofits run by grand-standers, who are more interested in getting their picture in front of the public than helping anybody except themselves.  Ali won’t do anything of that sort.  However, if there is a chance of telling everybSody about her dream of helping, she will shout it from the rooftops.

 12-8-2010 by Ciliangoo on Great Non-Profits 

HFH seeks to support our soldiers and their families by having the public send cards, letters, care packages, etc.  You can donate items to HFH to send to our soldiers or families, you can donate money to HFH for postage to get those care packages sent, you can send letters/cards/packages direct to HFH to distribute, or you can adopt your own soldier or their family.  Thanks to Homefront Hugs, you have one centralized organization to give what support you can!  Especially when our troops sacrifice so much for us.  Check them out at HomefrontHugs.org and not only will you see their dedication, you’ll want to help just like I did!

 2-3-2010 by HomefrontGator on Great Non-Profits 

My wife and I have been a part of Homefront Hugs for about 7 years. Alessandra Kellermann, the founder, continues to give superhuman effort on behalf of our military and their families. Her organization has given unconditional support to these people at a time when it is sorely needed. We have received numerous e-mails and letters from soldiers we have adopted through the years, and know how much this support means to them. This gives us incentive to continue our efforts supporting the organization and our service people. We enthusiastically give Homefront Hugs a 5 star rating.

 12-13-2009 by Homefront Hugs Adoptive Friend on Great Non-Profits

I just started this adventure. I read a message board from the troops and decided to help out. The response from Homefront Hugs was very quick. I understand that there are many more troops that need adoption. If I could I would adopt them all. My family like many are really financially strapped yet it doesn’t cost a whole lot to show you care.I suggest we do what we can to help out our troops. They sacrifice more then we can imagine.

 12-11-2009 by Journey on Great Non-Profits

My experience with Homefront Hugs and Alessandra have been truly wonderful.  This organization helps so many people, all the time.  I have loved being able to support our troops overseas.  I’ve made new friends and enjoyed hearing about all the wonderful things this organization does both overseas and here at home. My experience has made me proud of those who serve and those who volunteer to support them.  It feels truly amazing to know those men and women fighting in Iraq/Afghanistan know they are not alone and hearing it from them is something you will never forget. Homefront Hugs makes sure nobody is forgotten.

image

  12-10-2009 by D on Great Non-Profits

I am a volunteer and it has brought so much joy into my life to be able to give back. Our troops are dedicating their time and service so we can live without fear, it’s the least I can do . I write letters and send pkgs weekly and I would do it all over again if asked, I will remain a volunteer until I am no longer needed or able. One thing I’d also say is that…I love being a volunteer with Homefront Hugs USA. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…Geting to know Alessandra and her wonderful son Ed.

 9-22-2009 by Rosied51 on Great Non-Profits

I know how rewarding it has been to be a volunteer for HomefrontHugs USA. It has given me the opportunity to give back to our troops for what they do for us and our country. I try to spread the word about this great organization wherever I may be. We are volunteers we accept nothing in return except knowing we have helped another human being. One thing I’d also say is that…Alessandra Kellerman is doing the best job she can with what she has. Great lady and great team. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…we do it out of LOVE for our troops. I am a volunteer and it has brought so much joy into my life to be able to give back. Our troops are dedicating their time and service so we can live without fear, it’s the least I can do . I write letters and send pkgs weekly and I would do it all over again if asked, I will remain a volunteer until I am no longer needed or able.

 10-07-2009 by Karen S on Great Non-Profits

HomefrontHugs is an amazing organization! I have been a volunteer for nearly two years now and I am still caught off guard by the remarkably unconditional, loving support provided to our service memebers, and their families, by this group.  Alessandra is a selfless woman who has inspired me, as well as my family, with her generous spirit, and we are looking forward to supporting this effort for years to come. I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…the heartwarming and touching letters/e-mails from our adopted service men and women. To know we have made a SMALL difference has made us all feel as if we have given something back to those who give it ALL! The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were…selfless, generous, dedicated and passionate about their mission!  They are an inspiration and heroes themselves. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…knowing that we are able to contribute in some way to support the TRUE heroes who support us EVERY day, as well as getting to know some wonderful people who have enriched our lives and touched our hearts.

 10-1-2009 by Jim B on Great Non-Profits

A great organization that pairs up people and/or families to adopt a soldier that never receive care packages from home. My brother-in-law served in the Navy for 20 years and he always commented how fortunate he was to receive care packs regularly and how many guys never got anything from family or friends from home. Please let them know we care. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…my children get to write letters to a soldier we don’t even know, but we can tell him thanks for his risks every day and send off a little care package to him every month.

 9-29-2009 by Flyloe on Great Non-Profits

            I have been a member of Homefront Hugs since approximately 2004.  The number of projects provided have increased over the years as the needs of the troops, their families and the wounded have been made known.  It is truely an organization that works extremely hard to make sure no hero is forgotten.   As the needs grow, and more troops deploy, so grows the need for more volunteers and dontations.  This is an all volunteer organization with all monies being used for the projects.  Check out our web site and find a project to support to show your support an say think you to our heroes. I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…my vist to the polytrauma unit at the Tampa VA Hospital.  The volunteer coordinator was well acquainted with the organizations care packages, cards and letters of support for the soldiers, as well as the donation fof books. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…having a soldier tell me what a difference my letters, cards and packages made during his deployment.  We really do make a difference.

  9-26-2009 by Jeremy Pidgeon on Great Profits  (actually a soldier recipient)

A+++++++++++++. They go above and beyond their call of service. My entire platoon and I are most grateful for their service to us and helping us while we are currently deployed. They know what it means to help soldiers and not just current serving members. They even are very caring for out families at home. My wife is most grateful for the wonderful friendships she has made with them. I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…My platoon. It’s hard to describe what it is really like to get a care packages from others outside the home. The Company is very jealous of the Platoon because of the care and commitment we receive. Ways to make it better? Nothing. They not only take care of me and my platoon, but check on my family while I am currently gone. One thing I’d also say is that…It’s hard to convey our great appreciation, for a job well done!!! There are no other words that can describe their love and support but above and beyond expecations with an awesome job well done.

With great respect, Platoon SGT Jeremy Pidgeon and Platoon, Afganistan 2009/2010

***

 9-23-2009 by Franzi on Great Non-Profits

This is a great organization! Alessandra Kellermann, Homefront Hugs President is a wonderful role model as to putting your money and time where you heart is. Each time one of us can put a smile on the face of one of our troops and and/or their families we are blessed as are they! Not every service member has a family to support and care while they are deployed but HFH allows us to adopt and share our support! As an Army mom myself of a service member I am so pleased this organization allows me and others to “mother/befriend” these hard working guys and gals! It is an organization that is well run and true to its vision and goals of supporting our US military personnel. I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…I have made friends with several service personnel and their families that really “puts a face” on these courageous young men and women. It has allowed me to get friends and co-workers mobilized to support as well! What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…Meeting through mail/email these great troops and being able to “give back” in some small measure my appreciation for what they do and show appreciation for the sacrifices they make daily for our country! One thing I’d also say is that…Alessandra Kellermann and all the fine service men and women are my HEROES!

 9-23-2009 by JD on Great Non-Profits

If you are ready to get involved to support our troops in a meaningful way, this is the organization for you.   There are a ton of ways you can get involved!  Getting involved to show your support for our military doesn’t need to cost a lot of money.  The most important aspect of the volunteer experience is your time and kindness.  You can opt to “adopt” a deployed member, the military nurses and doctors who care for them, or our wounded heroes who are now home and could use some love.  You can simply be part of the campaign to write letters and send/make get well and thank you cards.  The cards are a great way to get children involved.  You may also choose to support their families back home.  Whatever you do, you will be making a difference…a true difference.  The organization is not politically affiliated and is completely volunteer run.  Our military and their families are counting on us. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…the true joy that my family and I have experienced knowing that we are making a soldier’s day a little brighter by giving them what they should have each day…our sincere gratitude and a little bit of home.

 9-22-2009 by Anexson3 on Great Non-Profits

 I am a volunteer for Homefront Hugs USA and am so blessed to have found this organization. Like so many people, I wanted to find a way to let our soldiers know how much we care and appreciate their service to this great nation. I have worked with other organizations that have not been as on top of things as Alessandra. It has been such a sure joy and pleasure to be able to work with such an outstanding and devoted woman. Her passion for the military goes above and beyond. She has inspired not only me but my daughter as well to go the extra mile and want to do as much as we can for our troops. I could not have picked a better organization to volunteer for. Thank you Alessandra for creating Homefront Hugs USA….

 9-22-2009 by Karandtar on Great Non-Profits

I have been a volunteer for Homefront Hugs for the last six months and have adopted two soldiers, one of whom is Afganistan and has lost men.  We can never do enough to thank these brave men and women who not only sacrifice their lives but sacrifice being away from family, friends, and the comforts of home.  Please, please volunteer so we can help as many folks as possible.  It just takes sending care packages and notes of encouragement.  You will find the experience most rewarding, and if you have children, it will be a valuable lesson on serving community and volunteerism.I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…Notes shared from soldiers and coverage from new agencies. What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…It makes me feel good when a soldier gets so excited about receiving a package of corn nuts!  The gratitude is so huge for something I do that is small in comparison.

  9-22-2009 by Mdybal on Great Non-Profits

This charity matches up ordinary people to provide support for our troops overseas. Whether it’s to send care packages, or write letters and cards to help morale, this is a great way to reach out to our brave service men and women around the world. Through Homefront Hugs, our family sent a large package of cards to wounded troops in Iraq and we even received a personal e-mail reply from the chaplain who distributed the letters. This is a great organization that needs monetary donations as well as volunteers to send items to our military personnel.I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization in…a personal e-mail recieved from Iraq, telling us how helpful it was to receive our cards.

 9-22-2009 by Terra on Great Non-Profits

HomefrontHugs is doing a job that is critical to any soldier when deployed away from home. This could also be adapted to new soldiers in the service during training, especially the young ones. I am glad that someone stood up and has said, “Give them our support”, it was barely there when I was a soldier deployed overseas and I was happy to respond to all of the letters that I received. God Bless you each!What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…They care and respond quickly to requests of adoption.One thing I’d also say is that…I would have appreciated this service of friendship and gratitude when I was deployed. Keep up the great work and get the Social Work System involved.

 9-22-2009 by TexasWalker on Great Non-Profits

I just recently started with Homefront Hugs and what a great organization.  From the service they provide to being prompt with helpful information, I really am getting into this opportunity!  Our service men and women deserve the very best!! My kids are excited to participate.What I’ve enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is…Quick turnaround of the application so we could start right away.

 ***************************

Other Feedback Posted on Volunteer Match

*

5 STARS by jerri i. (September 12, 2011)

I have a son that is in the military, currently he is stateside. I know how important it was to him when he got communication from home, whether that be care packages or a letter.
*
5 STARSby Robyn P. from Navarre, FL (February 15, 2009)
*
I volunteer for Homefront Hugs USA — Because no Hero should ever be Forgotten. I support our Troops, Veterans and Families – as they support me and my family. Because I want to help make a difference, just like these individuals who have given/give service to our country. My way, is to volunteer and let our soldiers know that I thank them, my family thanks them, and because of their support… Freedom Endures. I may volunteer by sending a wounded soldier a card, or a care package, or by volunteering my time to Homefront Hugs USA. Thus, I can reach out to honor someone I know, or someone I do not even know and I can let them know I care. I care about all of the men and women who serve, protect and sacrifice so that others might live, and live in a free world. I volunteer to thank and offer homefront hugs!
*
5 STARSby Kathleen G. from Mclean, VA (February 12, 2009)
*
I highly recommend the Homefront Hugs organization to anyone who wants to do something special for a service man or woman and/or their families in the US and deployed. While there are a variety of ways that individuals can support HH, the one-on-one pairing with a specific soldier provides a special sense of “adoption” and the chance to think of the individual as family. The president, Alessandra, is an awesome individual who somehow gives each volunteer an opportunity to do something that fits their schedule and unique intentions. This is a wonderful way to support our heros and their families.
*
5 STARS by Daniel L. (February 11, 2009)
*
My wife and I have volunteered for Homefront Hugs USA for almost six years. It is one of the most rewarding activities we ever participated in. Our service men and women earn and deserve our support for what they do, and this organization provides it without “red tape”. The expressions of appreciation from them are wonderful and provide motivation to continue. The rewards from volunteering for Homefront Hugs USA are worth every minute spent doing so.
*
5 STARS by kimberly e. from Gulf Breeze, FL (January 12, 2009)
*
My children and I volunteer for Homefront Hugs and have experienced firsthand how helpful it is to troops and their families! So many have been touched by this organization in so many ways; injured troops, medical personnel in military hospitals and the families of those who are unable to be at home right now. Imagine how the care packages, cards and letters brighten the day of those who receive them and show them that they are cared about and not forgotten! The beauty of Homefront Hugs is that you can volunteer in so many ways and whenever you are able. If you are looking for a way to support those who fight to keep our country free…Homefront Hugs is for you!
*
5 STARS  by Candi O.  (January 9, 2009)
*
If you are looking to make a difference in the life of a soldier or veteran then Homefront Hugs is the organization for you!  Run by Alessandra (and her son, Ed), HH enables ordinary people to do EXTRAORDINARY things! By reaching out to our deployed troops, who most likely need a care package filled with basic everyday items to make them more comfortable or sending a cheerful greeting to a wounded veteran, YOU have the ability to help others. Although the organization is based in FL & I live in NY, I have been involved with HH for years & am so grateful to continue to have opportunities to write letters to wounded soldiers in hospitals & to make donations (tax deductible) that will help Alessandra send more care packages! I should add that HH has NO political affiliations & most people would agree that our service people deserve to be supported 100%! Finally, if you are on this website, your heart is in the RIGHT place so I encourage you to become a HH volunteer today!
*
5 STARS by Joseph M.  (January 9, 2009)
^
I have seen firsthand the impact that Homefront Hugs has made on the lives of our military families and veterans.  From care packages to our troops in the field, to helping the families that are left behind, and to caring for veterans that have somehow fallen through the system, the dedication of Homefront Hugs is immeasurable.  Many military members and their families enjoy a better quality of life largely due to the efforts of this organization.  I would highly encourage anyone that says they support our troops to “walk the walk” by participating as a volunteer with Homefront Hugs.
5 STARSby Debra R. from Hammond, IN  (August 17, 2009)
**
I highly recommend Homefront Hugs, it is by far one of the best organizations out there helping our troops and their families.  I’ve been a volunteer/supporter of this organization for years and just recently started helping out an entire company in Iraq and I love it. Homefront Hugs does so much for our heroes and their families back home, the needs of some are great and they work so hard to meet those needs, no matter what it takes. If you are looking to get involved with a group that helps our troops, look no further, this is by far one of the best and you can trust that anything you do to help is being put to good use and is greatly appreciated by those receiving your help. Homefront Hugs may work to support our heroes but I’ve seen many of them write letters and notes claiming that Homefront Hugs and it’s supporters are their heroes.  Their words say it all! This organization has given me, personally, more personal gratification than anything else I’ve ever done
FYI:
****image*                                                                                                                         ******
**** 
*****